Home / Culture / What is Canada's only official bilingual province?

What is Canada's only official bilingual province?


New Brunswick

English and French are granted equal status under the law; all federal and government services are available in both languages. But what happens at the national level doesn't necessarily apply to the provincial level. In fact, all of Canada's individual provinces and territories have their own language laws, and only the eastern province of New Brunswick is officially bilingual (English and French). The majority of Canadians are native English speakers, but Quebec is the only Canadian province where French is the sole official language. Of course, most provinces end up being pretty bilingual anyway — government services in English-dominant provinces are still offered in French (and often various Aboriginal languages).

Culture Added November 8th, 2020 by Devis Profile Picture Devis

comments (0)

You have to be logged in to post a comment!
No comments on this trivia yet...